Garbanzo Bean Salad

This weekend I went on a trip to Omaha with my sisters. We went out to eat and it was not very healthy. To make this up I decided to make a salad to get back into the groove of eating healthy. The salad I decided to make is a Garbanzo Bean Salad. This salad was one I grew up with. Whenever we had a big activity (such as branding or preg checking) happening at the ranch, my mother would always make this salad. It is very simple and easy to make. When my mother makes it she chopped up a full head of lettuce, two cucumbers thinly sliced, and then add in one can of  garbanzo beans (with the water drained off). After it was all mixed together she would add in Zest Italian dressing.

I decided to make my salad different than my mother. I do not need this much food, I am only need enough for two people. This pushed me to get a small bag of Premium Romaine Salad mix rather than a head of lettuce. I also got one cucumber, a can of garbanzo beans, olives, and a bottle of Zesty Italian dressing. I sliced up the cucumbers and olives before mixing them in. Rather than using the full can of garbanzo beans, I used a half of can. All together this meal was around eight dollars, and if portioned right it is able to feed three people.

IMG_20170412_191830.jpg

Photo by Kristyn Stricker

In my picture you notice my bean’s can says chickpeas rather than garbanzo beans. This is because they are the same thing, chickpeas is just another name. Garbanzo beans give people a high source of molybdenum and manganese. They also are provide copper and folate, and are a great source of dietary fiber, iron, phosphorus, protein, and zinc.  

One thing I really liked about this salad is how much you are able to change it up. You can add in anything you like such as bell peppers, zucchinis, or even chicken. It can also work with any type of dressing you prefer. I always had this salad with the Zesty Italian. My friend tried on his salad. He said that it tasted very good and that any dressing would work well with it.

IMG_20170412_193212

Photo by Kristyn Stricker

4 thoughts on “Garbanzo Bean Salad

  1. Hello,
    I think your mom would be touched that you shared your memories of her here and that you jazzed up her salad! I hope you trip to Omaha was fun and that you are learning more about passion based learning each week!

    Like

Leave a Reply

