Technological Literacy

6002995338_a8524787bc_z

Photo by: Ewa Rozkosz

Digital literacy can have many different definitions. The first is the ability to locate, evaluate, use, or create information on a technological device or network. The second would be able to use computers as a way of presenting information in different formats and with a wide variety of sources.  The third way is a person’s ability to understand data, images, and media information and turn it into an applied knowledge. These are the best definitions that are able to define the multiple different means of digital literacy.

Digital literacy is constructed of several different elements. The biggest element is that technology is everywhere. Technology is always around us. Our generation and younger will be very tech savvy in future year. This means that as teachers we will need to incorporate tech into their classrooms in several different way. Technology can be use for creativity in the classroom (such as making a comic strip). It can also be used for promote civilized and proper responsibilities. Or technology can also help students for a more professional responsibility on social media sites.

I like to think that I know some about digital literacy. Especially since starting college, I find books, journals, professional websites all online. At the same time, I am no very talented with technology. I would like to learn how to be more tech savvy. Having a greater understand of technology would be very useful in my future classroom. I think I will be able to be more tech savvy if I attend workshops that demonstrate how to use new technology. This way I am able to have some sort of prior experience before having it in my classroom.

Digital fluency is slightly different than digital literacy. The main difference is the level information one has. It can be defined as a person who can utilize specific technologies to accomplish their goal. As digital fluent person will also know how to access or find information at a fast rate. They can accept a critique of the information their gathered as good or bad. They might be able to produce digital content. Digital fluency also has an easier time of creating an effect response for the intended audience. They are also able to utilize technology responsible. Some of these are ways to see if a student id digitally fluent.

For more information about Digital Literacy click here.

For more information about using technology in the classroom click here.

For more information on Digital Fluency click here.

7 thoughts on “Technological Literacy

  1. HI,

    As I read your post it reminded me of post I read from another classmate of ours. She also stressed the desire to become more tech savvy in readiness for her future classroom . 🙂 Is there a class for teacher tech dummies 🙂
    On a serious note, reading your post and hers has impressed on my the real need to be ready to help students troubleshoot tech. issues, more than likely while they are having a melt down caused by frustration.

    Thank you for helping!

    Like

  2. I also found that there were several working definitions of digital literacy. I agree that the main element of digital literacy is technology. Also, integrating technology in the classroom falls under the ISTE standards. I would also have to say I am not the most talented with technology either, the thing I struggle with the most is creating content. By that, I mean creating useful and user-friendly content. Do you agree with the quote from your first link, “Technology should be like oxygen: ubiquitous, necessary, and invisible”? I agree with everything, except for the part about invisible, I believe that sometimes there can be a struggle to make technology flow so well that it is invisible.

    Like

    • I do agree with my first quote. We are a technological society. Can you think of the last time you went a day without checking a social media outlet or text? Technologist is oxygen and will be to the future generations as well. This is why it is our responsibility to incorporate and utilize it in a manor that seems nature, almost invisible like.

      Like

  3. Great resources in the blog they are very handy to understand the differences between digital literacy and digital fluency. I would like to say that I know quite a bit about technology, but in reality I only know a little bit. I can still help my grandma understand it, but to help my students I will have understand it before they will. Then again my students can then teach me some key components in technology.

    Like

Leave a Reply

